For most developers, I’d start with the Dell Pro WD25: its up-to-100W power delivery and workstation-oriented design suit a desk setup with peripherals and external displays. The Plugable UD-ULTC4K stands out for triple 4K display support, while the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 is a smaller alternative for a lighter dual-display setup. The main tradeoffs are display compatibility, charging capacity, port selection, and dock size—especially when switching between Windows and macOS or using high-resolution monitors. A dock’s listed monitor count does not guarantee the same result on every laptop, so check the host computer’s video-output limits. Read on for the full comparison and advice on matching a dock to your development desk.
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Key Takeaways
- The Dell Pro WD25 is the clearest all-around desk pick in this group because it combines up-to-100W charging with a business-oriented dock format; it is less appealing if portability matters more than a permanent setup.
- Plugable’s triple-display models address a different need from the smaller hubs. The UD-ULTC4K specifically advertises triple 4K support, while compact Anker and Acer options suit less demanding monitor arrangements.
- Several products advertise 100W charging, but that figure is not the same as power delivered to the laptop. Buyers should check the dock’s power budget and the computer’s own charging requirements before relying on a single cable.
- Port count alone does not reveal workflow fit. A developer who needs wired networking, several USB devices, or DisplayPort may prefer a full-size dock over a compact dual-HDMI hub.
- The lineup includes useful middle-ground designs, not just desk docks and travel hubs. The Anker Nano dock with its detachable hub offers a way to split a permanent workstation setup from a portable accessory kit.
| Dell Pro WD25 USB-C Docking Station, 100W | ![]() | Best for Linux Developer Workstations | Connection: USB-C | Power delivery: Up to 100W | Ports: 10 total, including 6 USB ports | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable USB-C Triple Display Docking Station with 100W Power Delivery | ![]() | Best for Windows Triple-HDMI Setups | Connection: USB Type-C; compatible with USB4 and Thunderbolt systems | Display outputs: 3 HDMI | Display support: 1 × 4K at 30Hz and 2 × 1080p at 60Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable 12-in-1 USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station with 100W Charging | ![]() | Best for Triple 4K Developer Desks | Display support: Up to 3 × 4K at 60Hz | Video ports: 3 HDMI and 3 DisplayPort | USB ports: 6 USB 3.0 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable UD-ULTC4K 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Triple 4K Display Support | ![]() | Best for Peripheral-Heavy Desks | Total ports: 13 | USB ports: 5 | Video outputs: 3 HDMI and 3 DisplayPort | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Acer 9-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI | ![]() | Best Compact Dual-Monitor Pick | Ports: 2 HDMI, 3 USB-A, 1 USB-C, SD and microSD card slots | Video output: Dual 4K at 60Hz | USB data transfer: Up to 5 Gbps | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NEWQ 12-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI and Power Adapter | ![]() | Best Value for a Ready-to-Connect Desk | Ports: 12 | Video: Two displays up to 4K at 30Hz, or one up to 4K at 60Hz | Power adapter: 96W included | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 USB-C Hub with Dual HDMI | ![]() | Best Compact Linux-Free Travel Hub | Ports: 8 | HDMI: Two outputs | Display support: One display up to 4K at 60Hz or two at 4K at 30Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker Nano 8-in-1 USB-C Hub with Dual HDMI | ![]() | Best for High-Refresh Dual 4K on Windows | Ports: 8 | Video output: Two HDMI ports; up to dual 4K at 60Hz with compatible Windows host | Host requirements: Windows host supporting DP 1.4 and DSC for dual 4K at 60Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25 USB-C Docking Station | ![]() | Best for Managed Multi-Display Workstations | Model: Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25 | Power delivery: Up to 130W | Maximum display support: Up to four WQHD displays or one 6K display | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station, 13-in-1, 100W Charging | ![]() | Best for Three Extended HDMI Displays | Total ports: 13 | HDMI outputs: Three; supports up to three extended displays | HDMI 1 resolution: Up to 4K at 30Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| LIONWEI 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI and DisplayPort | ![]() | Best for Mixed-Display Setups | Ports: 13 | Display outputs: 2 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort | Maximum display resolution: Up to 4K at 60 Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker 10-in-1 USB-C Hub with Smart Display | ![]() | Best for High-Refresh-Rate Workstations | Ports: 10 | Video outputs: HDMI 2.1 and DisplayPort 1.4 | Maximum single-display output: 4K at 144 Hz or 2K at 240 Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HP USB-C 100W G6 Dock | ![]() | Best for HP-Centric Windows Desks | Model: BS7S9AA#ABA | Total ports: 10 | USB ports: 5 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker Nano 13-in-1 Laptop Docking Station with Detachable 6-in-1 USB-C Hub | ![]() | Best for Desk-to-Travel Flexibility | Ports: 13 | Display outputs: 2 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort | Display support: Up to 4K at 60 Hz single; dual 2K at 60 Hz; triple 1080p at 60 Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker 13-in-1 USB-C Laptop Docking Station with Triple Display | ![]() | Best for Windows and ChromeOS Triple-Monitor Desks | Ports: 13 | Display outputs: 2 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort | Maximum supported displays: 3 at 1080p 60 Hz; single display up to 4K 60 Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| USB-C docking stations for developer | Ports | Compatibility | USB ports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dell Pro WD25 USB-C Docking St | 10 total, including 6 USB ports | — | — |
| Plugable USB-C Triple Display | — | — | 6 |
| Plugable 12-in-1 USB-C Triple | — | — | 6 USB 3.0 |
| Plugable UD-ULTC4K 13-in-1 USB | — | Supported Windows 10 or later, macOS 11 or later, ChromeOS 100.x or later; compatible USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt systems | 5 |
| Acer 9-in-1 USB-C Docking Stat | 2 HDMI, 3 USB-A, 1 USB-C, SD and microSD card slots | USB-C with DisplayPort Alt Mode; Windows and macOS | — |
| NEWQ 12-in-1 USB-C Docking Sta | 12 | Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, iPadOS, Android, Unix, and Linux; USB-C and Thunderbolt 3/4 devices | — |
| Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 USB-C | 8 | USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt; Windows 10/11 and ChromeOS; Linux not supported | — |
| Anker Nano 8-in-1 USB-C Hub wi | 8 | Windows 10/11 and ChromeOS; compatible USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt hosts; Linux not supported | — |
| Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25 USB-C | — | — | Four USB-A 3.2 Gen 2 and one USB-C 3.2 Gen 2; six USB ports total |
| Plugable USB-C Triple Monitor | — | Windows 10+, macOS 11+, and ChromeOS; DisplayLink drivers required for multiple displays on macOS | Four USB-A ports up to 5Gbps and one USB-C port with 20W charging |
| LIONWEI 13-in-1 USB-C Docking | 13 | — | 8 total |
| Anker 10-in-1 USB-C Hub with S | 10 | Windows 10/11 and macOS; not compatible with Linux | — |
| HP USB-C 100W G6 Dock | — | — | 5 |
| Anker Nano 13-in-1 Laptop Dock | 13 | USB-C/Thunderbolt 3, 4, or 5; Windows 10 or later and macOS 13 Ventura or later | — |
| Anker 13-in-1 USB-C Laptop Doc | 13 | Full-functional USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt 3/4/5; Windows 10/11, ChromeOS, macOS mirror mode | 3 USB-C and 3 USB-A |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Dell Pro WD25 USB-C Docking Station, 100W
The WD25 is the strongest fit here for developers who need a dock with explicitly listed Linux compatibility: it supports Ubuntu 24.04 and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6+, alongside Windows and ChromeOS. Its up to 100W power delivery, Ethernet, and support for up to four displays suit a fixed workstation with several peripherals and diagnostic windows open. Compared with the Plugable 12-in-1, which specifies triple 4K at 60Hz, Dell does not state the WD25’s supported display resolutions, so I would verify monitor requirements before choosing it for a pixel-specific setup. It also has fewer clearly itemized port details than some feature-dense docks. The tradeoff is a more workstation-focused fit and a three-year limited hardware warranty with Advanced Exchange, rather than a fully specified display configuration.
Pros:- Lists compatibility with Ubuntu 24.04 and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6+
- Provides up to 100W USB-C power delivery
- Supports up to four displays and includes Ethernet
- Includes a three-year limited hardware warranty with Advanced Exchange
Cons:- Supported display resolutions are not specified
- Full compatibility depends on the computer’s operating system and ports
Best for: Developers using supported Ubuntu or Red Hat systems who want one-cable charging, Ethernet, and room to connect several displays.
Not ideal for: Developers who need confirmed 4K refresh rates or exact display-resolution limits before buying; the WD25 listing does not specify them.
- Connection:USB-C
- Power delivery:Up to 100W
- Ports:10 total, including 6 USB ports
- Display outputs:DisplayPort and 1 HDMI; supports up to 4 displays
- Operating systems:Windows 10/11, Ubuntu 24.04, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6+, ChromeOS 137
- Dimensions:8.07 × 3.54 × 1.39 in
- Weight:1.2 lb
- Warranty:3-year limited hardware warranty with Advanced Exchange
Our verdict“Choose the WD25 for a Linux-capable developer workstation with multiple displays, but verify the dock’s resolution support against your monitors first.”
Plugable USB-C Triple Display Docking Station with 100W Power Delivery
For a Windows developer who wants three HDMI screens without juggling display adapters, this Plugable dock makes the monitor limits unusually clear: one output supports 4K at 30Hz, while the other two support 1080p at 60Hz. That can work well for code, terminals, and documentation, but the 30Hz 4K screen is a less smooth choice for frequent window movement than the Plugable 12-in-1’s stated triple 4K at 60Hz support. Six USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, audio, and up to 100W charging make it a practical desk hub. The main deal-breaker for this roundup’s developer audience is straightforward: Linux is not supported. macOS also requires driver installation, and HDCP is unsupported, so this is a better fit for a compatible Windows setup than a mixed-OS team.
Pros:- Provides three HDMI outputs with stated resolution and refresh-rate limits
- Supports up to 100W host charging
- Adds six USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, and audio
- Works with compatible USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt systems
Cons:- Does not support Linux
- Only one display supports 4K, and it is limited to 30Hz
- macOS requires driver installation and HDCP is unsupported
Best for: Windows developers with three HDMI monitors who want Ethernet, several USB peripherals, and laptop charging from one dock.
Not ideal for: Linux developers, users who need three 4K displays at 60Hz, or anyone relying on HDCP-protected content on connected screens.
- Connection:USB Type-C; compatible with USB4 and Thunderbolt systems
- Display outputs:3 HDMI
- Display support:1 × 4K at 30Hz and 2 × 1080p at 60Hz
- USB ports:6
- Power delivery:Up to 100W
- Ethernet:Gigabit
- Operating systems:Windows 10/11, macOS 11 or later, ChromeOS 100 or later
- Limitations:Linux and HDCP not supported
Our verdict“Pick this Plugable dock for a compatible Windows desk built around three HDMI screens, not for Linux or a triple-4K-at-60Hz setup.”
Plugable 12-in-1 USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station with 100W Charging
This is the clearest choice in this group for developers who want a triple 4K, 60Hz workspace: the dock’s stated display support is stronger than the other reviewed models, including the WD25, whose listing does not give resolution limits, and Plugable’s three-HDMI dock, which caps two screens at 1080p. The 12-in-1 pairs that display capacity with six USB 3.0 ports, Ethernet, headset audio, and up to 100W laptop charging. That combination suits a desk where builds, logs, browser tools, and test environments stay visible at once. The tradeoff is software and power planning: macOS needs DisplayLink drivers, and laptops requiring more than 100W may still need their original charger. At 2.4 lb, it is also more suited to a permanent desk than a lightweight travel kit.
Pros:- Supports up to three 4K displays at 60Hz
- Includes six USB 3.0 ports, Ethernet, and 3.5mm TRRS audio
- Provides up to 100W charging for compatible laptops
- Includes a two-year warranty and lifetime support
Cons:- macOS requires DisplayLink driver installation
- Laptops that need more than 100W may require their original charger
- At 2.4 lb, it is less convenient for a portable setup
Best for: Developers running three high-resolution monitors who need USB peripherals, wired networking, and headset audio at a fixed workstation.
Not ideal for: Mac users who want to avoid DisplayLink drivers, laptop owners requiring more than 100W, or frequent travelers prioritizing low weight.
- Display support:Up to 3 × 4K at 60Hz
- Video ports:3 HDMI and 3 DisplayPort
- USB ports:6 USB 3.0
- Total ports:12
- Charging power:Up to 100W
- Connectivity:USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt, Ethernet, 3.5mm TRRS audio
- Operating systems:Windows 10/11, macOS 11 or later, ChromeOS 100 or later
- Weight:2.4 lb
- Warranty and support:2-year warranty; lifetime support
Our verdict“Choose this model for a stationary triple-4K developer desk, provided DisplayLink and its 100W charging limit fit your laptop.”
Plugable UD-ULTC4K 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Triple 4K Display Support
The UD-ULTC4K suits developers who need more than screens: its 13 ports include five USB ports, Ethernet, audio, and SD card access, while three HDMI and three DisplayPort connectors give monitor setups more connection choices than the three-HDMI Plugable dock. It supports three 4K displays at 60Hz and up to 100W laptop charging, with up to 20W available for accessories. Compared with the Plugable 12-in-1, the extra card access and accessory charging make this a better match for desks that also handle media or removable storage; the 12-in-1 is the simpler alternative if those extras are unnecessary. The main cautions are DisplayLink driver requirements on macOS and lack of HDCP, which can block protected streaming content on attached displays.
Pros:- Supports up to three 4K displays at 60Hz
- Offers 13 ports with HDMI, DisplayPort, USB, Ethernet, audio, and SD card access
- Provides up to 100W laptop charging and up to 20W accessory charging
- Includes lifetime support from Plugable
Cons:- Requires DisplayLink drivers on macOS
- Does not support HDCP, which can prevent protected content from playing on connected displays
Best for: Developers with a permanent workstation who connect several 4K monitors, USB accessories, Ethernet, and SD cards.
Not ideal for: Mac users avoiding DisplayLink, or buyers who need HDCP-protected streaming on dock-connected displays.
- Total ports:13
- USB ports:5
- Video outputs:3 HDMI and 3 DisplayPort
- Maximum display support:3 × 4K at 60Hz
- Laptop charging:Up to 100W Power Delivery; 96W certified
- Accessory charging:Up to 20W
- Compatibility:Supported Windows 10 or later, macOS 11 or later, ChromeOS 100.x or later; compatible USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt systems
- Dimensions:4.72 × 2.64 × 6.89 in
- HDCP:Not supported
Our verdict“Choose the UD-ULTC4K over the 12-in-1 when your developer desk benefits from SD access and accessory charging alongside triple 4K displays.”
Acer 9-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI
The Acer is the most focused option here for a developer who needs two 4K monitors at 60Hz but does not need a full-size triple-display dock. Its dual HDMI outputs, three USB-A ports, one USB-C port, and SD and microSD readers cover a compact desk or flexible work setup. Compared with Plugable’s 12-in-1, it gives up a third display, Ethernet, and the richer dock-style connection mix; in return, its aluminum body and 0.65 ft built-in cable make it easier to pack and connect quickly. Charging reaches up to 90W, but only when paired with a compatible 100W-or-higher power adapter, which is not included. Developers using macOS should also check their required monitor arrangement, since external-display support has limitations there.
Pros:- Supports two 4K displays at 60Hz
- Combines three USB-A ports, one USB-C port, and SD and microSD readers
- Can provide up to 90W laptop charging with a compatible adapter
- Aluminum body and built-in cable suit a compact setup
Cons:- Power adapter is not included and must be 100W or higher for the stated charging setup
- Requires a laptop USB-C port with DisplayPort Alt Mode
- macOS has limitations on external display arrangements
Best for: Developers who travel between workspaces or use a compact desk and need two 4K HDMI displays plus card readers.
Not ideal for: Linux users, developers needing three or more monitors, or buyers expecting an included power adapter or Ethernet port.
- Ports:2 HDMI, 3 USB-A, 1 USB-C, SD and microSD card slots
- Video output:Dual 4K at 60Hz
- USB data transfer:Up to 5 Gbps
- Card reader speed:Up to 104 Mbps
- Power delivery:Up to 100W input; up to 90W to laptop
- Cable length:0.65 ft built-in cable
- Materials:Aluminum alloy
- Compatibility:USB-C with DisplayPort Alt Mode; Windows and macOS
Our verdict“Choose the Acer for a compact two-monitor setup with card-reader access, but look elsewhere if you need Ethernet, a third display, or an included power adapter.”
NEWQ 12-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI and Power Adapter
The NEWQ’s main advantage for a developer setting up a fixed desk is that it includes its 96W power adapter, while the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 requires a separate charger for pass-through power. It can drive two displays at 4K at 30Hz, or one at 4K at 60Hz, alongside Ethernet, USB-A, audio, and SD and microSD readers. That combination suits coding, documentation, and peripheral use without piecing together a desk connection kit. The tradeoff is refresh rate: developers who value smoother motion across two screens may prefer the Anker Nano 8-in-1, which can reach dual 4K at 60Hz on a compatible Windows host. The NEWQ also lists broad operating-system compatibility, but macOS does not support triple extended displays. I’d pick it for a practical, supplied-power setup, not a high-refresh multi-monitor workstation.
Pros:- Includes a 96W power adapter and supports laptop charging up to 65W.
- Supports two 4K displays at 30Hz or one 4K display at 60Hz.
- Combines Ethernet, audio, USB-A, and SD and microSD readers.
- Lists compatibility with Linux as well as Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, iPadOS, and Android.
Cons:- Dual-display output is limited to 4K at 30Hz.
- Laptop charging is capped at 65W despite the 96W adapter.
- macOS does not support triple extended displays.
Best for: Developers who want one dock with its power adapter included, dual-monitor support, Ethernet, and card readers for a Windows, Linux, or mixed-device desk.
Not ideal for: Developers who need dual 4K at 60Hz, or macOS users expecting three independent extended displays.
- Ports:12
- Video:Two displays up to 4K at 30Hz, or one up to 4K at 60Hz
- Power adapter:96W included
- Laptop charging:Up to 65W
- USB-A:Two USB-A 3.0 ports up to 5Gbps; two USB-A 2.0 ports
- Card readers:SD and microSD (TF), up to 104 MB/s
- Other connections:RJ45 Ethernet, 3.5mm audio, and 18W USB-C charging
- Dimensions and weight:9.05 × 1.65 × 0.67 in; 1.5 lb
- Compatibility:Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, iPadOS, Android, Unix, and Linux; USB-C and Thunderbolt 3/4 devices
Our verdict“Choose the NEWQ if you want a broad set of desk connections and an included power adapter, but not dual high-refresh 4K output.”
Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 USB-C Hub with Dual HDMI
At 3.2 ounces, this Anker is easier to carry between home, office, and a shared development desk than the 1.5-pound NEWQ. It still brings dual HDMI, 1Gbps Ethernet, USB-A, SD and microSD readers, and up to 85W pass-through charging into a small hub. For a compatible Windows laptop, the displays can run at up to 4K at 30Hz each, or a single screen can reach 4K at 60Hz. That makes it a useful travel connection point, but it is less self-contained than the NEWQ because the charger is not included. Its largest limitation for developers is explicit: Linux is not supported, and macOS mirrors the same image on both external monitors rather than extending the desktop. I’d choose it over the larger NEWQ for portability only if those OS limits fit my workflow.
Pros:- Lightweight 3.2-ounce design suits commuting and shared desks.
- Combines dual HDMI, 1Gbps Ethernet, USB-A, and SD and microSD readers.
- Supports up to 85W USB-C PD pass-through charging.
- Supports one 4K display at 60Hz or two at 4K at 30Hz.
Cons:- Not compatible with Linux.
- macOS mirrors the same image on both external displays.
- Charger and USB-C charging cable are not included.
Best for: Windows or ChromeOS developers who commute with a laptop and want Ethernet, card readers, dual HDMI, and charging passthrough in a lightweight hub.
Not ideal for: Linux developers, macOS users who need independent external desktops, or anyone wanting a charger included with the dock.
- Ports:8
- HDMI:Two outputs
- Display support:One display up to 4K at 60Hz or two at 4K at 30Hz
- Charging:Up to 85W USB-C PD pass-through
- Ethernet:1Gbps
- Card readers:SD and microSD
- Compatibility:USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt; Windows 10/11 and ChromeOS; Linux not supported
- Dimensions and weight:4.65 × 2.01 × 0.69 in; 3.2 oz
- In the box:Hub and welcome guide; charger not included
Our verdict“Pick this hub for a portable Windows or ChromeOS kit, but skip it if Linux support or extended macOS displays are part of your setup.”
Anker Nano 8-in-1 USB-C Hub with Dual HDMI
Among the compact hubs here, the Anker Nano has the strongest stated display ceiling for a compatible Windows workstation: dual 4K at 60Hz, provided the host supports DP 1.4 and DSC. That can make side-by-side code, logs, and test output feel more fluid than the NEWQ or Anker PowerExpand, both of which cap dual displays at 4K at 30Hz. Its USB data supports up to 10Gbps, while SD and TF readers add a convenient route for project media and device files. The tradeoffs are substantial for some developer setups: macOS mirrors the displays, Linux is unsupported, and the charger needed for full pass-through power is sold separately. I’d rank it ahead of the older PowerExpand for compatible Windows display performance, but not for cross-platform flexibility or a ready-to-use charging bundle.
Pros:- Can support dual 4K at 60Hz with a compatible Windows host using DP 1.4 and DSC.
- USB data transfer rates reach up to 10Gbps.
- Provides up to 85W laptop pass-through charging with a compatible charger.
- Includes SD and TF 3.0 card readers rated up to 104 MB/s.
Cons:- macOS mirrors the same content across the external displays.
- Not compatible with Linux.
- A compatible 100W charger and cable are not included.
Best for: Windows developers with a DP 1.4 and DSC-capable laptop who want two 4K 60Hz screens and faster USB data in a compact hub.
Not ideal for: Linux developers, Mac users who need two separate external desktops, or buyers who want a charger included.
- Ports:8
- Video output:Two HDMI ports; up to dual 4K at 60Hz with compatible Windows host
- Host requirements:Windows host supporting DP 1.4 and DSC for dual 4K at 60Hz
- USB data:Up to 10Gbps
- Laptop charging:Up to 85W pass-through; up to 100W PD input
- Card readers:SD and TF 3.0, up to 104 MB/s
- Compatibility:Windows 10/11 and ChromeOS; compatible USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt hosts; Linux not supported
- Dimensions and weight:7.87 × 4.13 × 0.79 in; 3.84 oz
- Charger:Not included
Our verdict“Choose the Nano for dual high-refresh 4K on a compatible Windows laptop, not for Linux or extended-display macOS use.”
Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25 USB-C Docking Station
The Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25 is the enterprise-oriented choice in this group. Its support for up to four WQHD displays or one 6K display and up to 130W of laptop power suits a desk built around demanding workstations better than the smaller Anker hubs, whose dual HDMI output is aimed at simpler setups. The mix of DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.1, USB-C video, and 2.5GbE also gives IT teams more ways to connect displays and networked work. Dell’s remote management console and security features matter most where docks need centralized oversight, not for a solo developer who just needs ports. The key tradeoff is host dependence: the maximum display and power capabilities require compatible equipment. Compared with the Plugable 13-in-1, this Dell leans toward managed, high-capacity deployments rather than three HDMI screens and a bundled power adapter.
Pros:- Supports up to four WQHD displays or one 6K display with compatible equipment.
- Provides up to 130W of laptop power delivery.
- 2.5GbE supports faster wired networking than the 1Gbps Ethernet on the Anker PowerExpand.
- Offers remote management, scheduled updates, WPA-3 security, and hardware-based encryption.
Cons:- Maximum display and power performance depends on compatible host equipment.
- Its management and security features may add little value to an individual developer’s desk.
Best for: Developers and IT teams deploying compatible Dell or other notebook workstations that need high-power charging, multiple displays, remote dock management, and security features.
Not ideal for: Solo developers seeking a simple plug-in dock, or buyers whose laptop cannot use the SD25’s higher display and power capabilities.
- Model:Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25
- Power delivery:Up to 130W
- Maximum display support:Up to four WQHD displays or one 6K display
- Video interfaces:DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.1, and USB-C Multi-Function DisplayPort
- USB ports:Four USB-A 3.2 Gen 2 and one USB-C 3.2 Gen 2; six USB ports total
- Ethernet:2.5GbE
- Management and security:Dell Device Management Console, WPA-3 192-bit encryption, and hardware-based encryption
- Dimensions and weight:8.07 × 6 × 1.39 in; 562 g
- Recycled materials:At least 65% post-consumer recycled materials
Our verdict“Choose the SD25 for a compatible workstation fleet that benefits from high display capacity and remote management, rather than a basic personal setup.”
Plugable USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station, 13-in-1, 100W Charging
For developers who need three separate external screens, the Plugable offers a more direct fit than the Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25, which lists up to four WQHD displays but uses several video connection types. This 13-in-1 dock provides three extended HDMI outputs, up to 100W laptop charging, Gigabit Ethernet, five USB ports, an SD reader, and audio connections. The resolution split shapes the experience: HDMI 1 reaches 4K at 30Hz, while HDMI 2 and 3 top out at 1920×1200 at 60Hz. That can suit code, terminals, and reference windows, but it is not a three-screen high-resolution setup. On macOS, multiple displays require DisplayLink drivers, and protected content playback is unsupported. Compared with the NEWQ, it adds a third extended screen and more laptop charging, at the cost of driver setup and mixed display limits.
Pros:- Supports up to three extended HDMI displays.
- Provides up to 100W laptop charging and a 20W USB-C device-charging port.
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet, five USB ports, an SD reader, and audio connections.
- Includes a power adapter and 1m USB-C host cable.
Cons:- Only HDMI 1 supports up to 4K, and that output is limited to 30Hz; the other two top out at 1920×1200 at 60Hz.
- Multiple displays on macOS require DisplayLink driver installation.
- Does not support HDCP protected-content playback.
Best for: Developers who want three extended HDMI screens for code, terminals, documentation, or monitoring and can work within the listed resolution limits.
Not ideal for: Users who need three high-resolution displays, protected-content playback, or multiple macOS screens without installing DisplayLink drivers.
- Total ports:13
- HDMI outputs:Three; supports up to three extended displays
- HDMI 1 resolution:Up to 4K at 30Hz
- HDMI 2 and 3 resolution:Up to 1920×1200 at 60Hz
- Laptop charging:Up to 100W
- USB ports:Four USB-A ports up to 5Gbps and one USB-C port with 20W charging
- Additional connections:Gigabit Ethernet, SD card reader, and audio in/out
- Compatibility:Windows 10+, macOS 11+, and ChromeOS; DisplayLink drivers required for multiple displays on macOS
- Included:Dock, 1m USB-C host cable, power adapter with AC cord, and quick start guide
Our verdict“Pick the Plugable if three extended HDMI screens matter more than uniform resolution or driver-free macOS support.”
LIONWEI 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI and DisplayPort
The LIONWEI is a strong fit for developers who want three kinds of display output and plenty of ports without moving to a larger desktop dock. Its two HDMI ports and DisplayPort offer more connection flexibility than the HP USB-C 100W G6 Dock, which has one HDMI output. Eight USB ports, Gigabit Ethernet, and up to 10 Gbps data transfer also make it practical for a keyboard, storage, wired network, and other desk gear.
The main limitation is display behavior, not port count: Mac extended mode supports only one external monitor, so Windows users are the clearer match. The dock draws 13 W from its 100 W input, leaving up to 87 W for laptop charging. Compared with the detachable Anker Nano 13-in-1, it lacks a portable hub option, but its 140 g weight keeps the dock itself easy to move.
Pros:- Two HDMI outputs and DisplayPort accommodate a wider mix of monitors and cables.
- Eight USB ports provide room for developer peripherals and external storage.
- Gigabit Ethernet and up to 10 Gbps data transfer suit wired networking and fast accessories.
- Lightweight 140 g design is easy to move between workspaces.
Cons:- Mac extended mode supports only one external monitor.
- The dock’s 13 W draw limits laptop charging to up to 87 W from the 100 W input.
Best for: Windows developers who need flexible HDMI and DisplayPort connections, multiple USB peripherals, and wired Ethernet at a shared desk.
Not ideal for: Mac developers who need two or more independent external displays, or users whose laptop needs more than 87 W of charging power.
- Ports:13
- Display outputs:2 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort
- Maximum display resolution:Up to 4K at 60 Hz
- USB ports:8 total
- Data transfer rate:Up to 10 Gbps
- Laptop charging:Up to 87 W from 100 W Power Delivery input
- Ethernet and audio:Gigabit Ethernet; 3.5 mm audio/mic jack
- Weight:140 g
Our verdict“Choose the LIONWEI for a lightweight Windows desk setup with varied display outputs and many USB connections, but skip it if you need multi-monitor extended mode on a Mac.”
Anker 10-in-1 USB-C Hub with Smart Display
For developers using a high-refresh-rate monitor, the Anker 10-in-1 offers a sharper focus than the triple-display docks in this group. Its HDMI 2.1 and DisplayPort 1.4 can drive a single display at up to 4K 144 Hz or 2K 240 Hz with compatible hardware. The built-in status display adds a useful check on charging power, transfer speed, temperature, and port activity—details the LIONWEI 13-in-1 does not report on a screen.
Its tradeoffs are substantial for some developer workflows. Linux is not supported, and macOS mirrors the image across the two external monitors rather than extending the desktop. Dual-monitor output also depends on host hardware, and the charger is not included, so the advertised 80 W pass-through requires a separate power source. The magnetic base and 2.3-foot cable help keep a compact desk tidy, but this is a specialized display hub rather than the most universally compatible dock.
Pros:- Supports up to 4K at 144 Hz or 2K at 240 Hz on a compatible single display.
- Built-in display reports port status, charging power, transfer speed, and temperature.
- Magnetic base and rear-facing ports can help reduce desk cable clutter.
- Includes Ethernet, SD and microSD slots, and USB data ports in a 10-port hub.
Cons:- Linux is not supported.
- macOS shows identical content on both external monitors.
- Charger is not included, and dual-display output depends on host hardware.
Best for: Windows developers with a compatible USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt laptop who prioritize a high-refresh-rate monitor and want visible connection and charging status.
Not ideal for: Linux users, Mac users who need separate content on two external monitors, and buyers who want a dock with its charger included.
- Ports:10
- Video outputs:HDMI 2.1 and DisplayPort 1.4
- Maximum single-display output:4K at 144 Hz or 2K at 240 Hz
- Maximum dual-display output:Dual 2K at 240 Hz with compatible host
- Pass-through charging:Up to 80 W; charger not included
- Data transfer rate:Up to 10 Gbps
- Host cable length:2.3 ft
- Compatibility:Windows 10/11 and macOS; not compatible with Linux
Our verdict“Pick this Anker for a compatible Windows high-refresh-rate setup with useful status readouts, but choose another dock for Linux or independent Mac displays.”
HP USB-C 100W G6 Dock
The HP USB-C 100W G6 is the most focused choice here for a Windows developer who wants one-cable laptop power and a straightforward desk connection. It delivers up to 100 W, pairs HDMI 2.1 with 2.5 Gbps Ethernet, and adds LED alerts and on-screen notifications that can make connection or status issues easier to spot. Compared with the LIONWEI 13-in-1, it has fewer USB ports and only one HDMI output, but the faster listed Ethernet and status notifications make it a different sort of work-desk tool.
That focus narrows its audience. The listed operating system is Windows 11, so developers on macOS or Linux should not assume compatibility. It also provides less monitor-output flexibility than the LIONWEI or the triple-display Anker models. The 1.5-pound weight is less convenient to carry than a small hub, though replaceable components may appeal to teams planning a more maintainable fixed setup.
Pros:- Provides up to 100 W laptop charging through one cable.
- 2.5 Gbps Ethernet offers more network bandwidth than the Gigabit ports on the LIONWEI and Anker 13-in-1.
- HDMI 2.1 supports refresh rates up to 120 Hz.
- LED alerts, on-screen notifications, and replaceable components support a managed desk setup.
Cons:- Windows 11 is the listed minimum operating system, limiting confidence for macOS and Linux users.
- One HDMI output offers less display flexibility than docks with multiple HDMI and DisplayPort connections.
- At 1.5 pounds, it is less suited to frequent travel than compact hubs.
Best for: Windows 11 developers, especially those with compatible HP or USB-C/Thunderbolt laptops, who want up to 100 W charging, faster Ethernet, and status alerts.
Not ideal for: Mac or Linux developers, and anyone who needs multiple HDMI/DisplayPort outputs or a very lightweight travel dock.
- Model:BS7S9AA#ABA
- Total ports:10
- USB ports:5
- Power Delivery:Up to 100 W
- Video:1 HDMI 2.1 port; supports up to 120 Hz
- Ethernet:RJ-45, 2.5 Gbps
- Operating system:Windows 11
- Weight:1.5 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the HP for a Windows 11 desk that values 100 W charging, 2.5 Gbps Ethernet, and status alerts over multiple monitor outputs.”
Anker Nano 13-in-1 Laptop Docking Station with Detachable 6-in-1 USB-C Hub
The Anker Nano’s standout is its detachable 6-in-1 USB-C hub: developers can leave the 13-port dock at a workstation and take a smaller set of connections on the road. At a desk, it supports up to three external displays, up to 100 W laptop charging, Gigabit Ethernet, card readers, audio, and up to 10 Gbps data transfer. That makes it more adaptable than the Anker 13-in-1 Triple Display Dock, which has a fixed design and charges laptops at up to 85 W.
Display support depends heavily on the computer. Windows users can use up to three displays, while macOS mirrors the image across multiple external screens, which limits its value for developers who need separate workspaces. The dock also needs a connected laptop to activate its ports. Its included 140 W adapter and USB-C cable reduce setup friction, but its full multi-display feature set is less useful if the host operating system cannot extend the desktop as needed.
Pros:- Detachable 6-in-1 hub adds a portable option for travel or lighter setups.
- Supports up to three external displays on compatible systems.
- Provides up to 100 W laptop charging and includes a 140 W power adapter.
- Combines Gigabit Ethernet, SD/TF readers, audio, and up to 10 Gbps data connections.
Cons:- macOS mirrors content across multiple external displays.
- Ports require a connected laptop to become active.
- Three-display support depends on the host computer and operating system.
Best for: Developers who split time between a fixed Windows workstation and travel, and want a detachable hub plus multiple desk connections.
Not ideal for: Mac developers who need independent external desktops, or users looking for a dock that works as a standalone powered USB hub without a laptop connected.
- Ports:13
- Display outputs:2 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort
- Display support:Up to 4K at 60 Hz single; dual 2K at 60 Hz; triple 1080p at 60 Hz
- USB connections:1 USB-C upstream, 2 USB-C data, 3 USB-A
- Data transfer:Up to 10 Gbps
- Laptop charging:Up to 100 W Power Delivery
- Included adapter:140 W
- Other connections:Gigabit Ethernet, 3.5 mm audio, SD/TF card slots
- Compatibility:USB-C/Thunderbolt 3, 4, or 5; Windows 10 or later and macOS 13 Ventura or later
Our verdict“Choose the Anker Nano if you want one setup for both a multi-display Windows desk and lighter travel, but skip it for extended multi-monitor work on macOS.”
Anker 13-in-1 USB-C Laptop Docking Station with Triple Display
This Anker is aimed at developers who want a fixed three-monitor desk with common peripheral connections already covered. On Windows and ChromeOS, it supports up to three displays at 1080p and 60 Hz, with a single-display maximum of 4K at 60 Hz. Its dual HDMI and DisplayPort outputs, SD and microSD readers, Gigabit Ethernet, and included 135 W adapter give it a more complete desk setup than the HP USB-C 100W G6 Dock, which has only one HDMI output.
The display ceiling is the main compromise: triple-monitor work is limited to 1080p at 60 Hz, so it is less suited to high-resolution or high-refresh-rate panels than the Anker 10-in-1 Smart Display hub. It also supplies up to 85 W to the laptop, and macOS mirrors external screens rather than extending them. For a Windows or ChromeOS developer who values port variety over high-resolution multi-monitor output, that trade is easier to accept.
Pros:- Supports up to three external displays on Windows and ChromeOS.
- Includes dual HDMI, DisplayPort, Gigabit Ethernet, and SD and microSD readers.
- The 135 W adapter is included and supports up to 85 W laptop charging.
- USB-C ports support data transfer up to 10 Gbps.
Cons:- Triple-display output is limited to 1080p at 60 Hz.
- macOS supports mirrored external displays rather than an extended desktop.
- Up to 85 W host charging may be insufficient for some power-hungry laptops.
Best for: Windows or ChromeOS developers building a three-monitor 1080p workstation with wired Ethernet, card readers, and several USB peripherals.
Not ideal for: Mac developers who need independent external displays, or users who want three high-resolution monitors or more than 85 W laptop charging.
- Ports:13
- Display outputs:2 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort
- Maximum supported displays:3 at 1080p 60 Hz; single display up to 4K 60 Hz
- USB ports:3 USB-C and 3 USB-A
- USB data rates:USB-C up to 10 Gbps; USB-A up to 5 Gbps
- Host charging:Up to 85 W
- Included power adapter:135 W
- Ethernet and card readers:Gigabit Ethernet; SD and microSD
- Compatibility:Full-functional USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt 3/4/5; Windows 10/11, ChromeOS, macOS mirror mode
Our verdict“Pick this Anker for a Windows or ChromeOS developer who wants three 1080p displays and broad desk connectivity, not high-resolution multi-monitor output or Mac extended mode.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 listed docks through the needs of developer workstations: connecting one or more monitors, powering a laptop, attaching keyboards, storage and other peripherals, and keeping a desk usable day to day. I weighed stated display support and video ports against the limitations imposed by the host laptop, then considered charging claims, port mix, form factor, and whether a product is better suited to a fixed desk or occasional travel. I did not treat a higher port count or a triple-display label as a universal advantage; those features matter only when the computer and workflow can use them.
The ranking favors products that combine useful workstation functions with clear fit for a recognizable buyer. The Dell Pro WD25 leads as a balanced desk dock, while Plugable’s triple-display options rank highly for multi-monitor work. Compact Anker and Acer hubs make more sense for simpler or mobile setups, and the remaining models distinguish themselves through port layouts, bundled power, smart features, or detachable designs. I also account for practical drawbacks, including host compatibility checks, bulk, and the possibility that a dock’s advertised display setup depends on the laptop’s operating system and graphics capabilities.
Factors to Consider When Choosing USB-C Docking Stations For Developers
I’d choose a dock by starting with the laptop and work pattern, not the largest feature list. A developer who spends the day at one desk has different needs from someone who moves between a home office and a coworking space. These checks help prevent a dock from becoming the weak link in a monitor or charging setup.
Match Display Support to the Laptop, Not Just the Dock
Before buying, confirm how many external displays your laptop supports over its USB-C or Thunderbolt connection. The dock’s triple-display capability cannot override limits imposed by the computer’s processor, graphics hardware, operating system, or port implementation. Check the exact resolutions and refresh rates you plan to use, since a multi-monitor setup may require lower refresh rates or resolution compromises. Also verify whether the dock uses DisplayPort Alt Mode, DisplayLink, or another method; software-driven video can behave differently from a direct display connection. A common mistake is counting the dock’s HDMI and DisplayPort sockets as proof that every screen can run at full resolution. If you rely on external monitors for code, logs, and documentation, check the laptop maker’s display matrix before choosing a dock.
Treat Charging Wattage as a Compatibility Check
Power delivery figures describe a capability, not a promise that every connected laptop receives that full amount. Some docks reserve part of their power budget for attached devices, and a laptop with demanding workloads may need more power than a lightweight model. Compare the dock’s stated laptop output with the computer’s recommended adapter wattage, then check whether the dock needs its own power supply. If the laptop charges slowly under sustained builds or rendering, the dock may be underpowered even if it keeps the battery from draining during light use. Avoid assuming that a USB-C connector automatically means full-speed charging. For a single-cable desk, a matching power budget can be more useful than extra ports you will rarely use.
Choose Ports Around Your Daily Development Setup
List the devices you connect every day: monitors, wired network, keyboard, mouse, headset, external SSDs, and test hardware. Then check the number and type of ports, including whether high-speed USB ports are available for storage or whether most connections are intended for basic peripherals. Ethernet can help when builds, remote sessions, or large repositories depend on a stable wired link, but it is unnecessary if your work is reliably wireless. DisplayPort may fit an existing monitor setup better than a dock offering only HDMI, so account for cables and adapters you already own. A large port count can still disappoint if the useful connectors are awkwardly placed or share bandwidth. I’d favor a layout that fits your real desk over buying ports for hypothetical future devices.
Decide Whether the Dock Lives on a Desk or Travels
Full-size docks generally make more sense as permanent workstation hubs, particularly when they include a dedicated power supply and a broad mix of connections. Compact hubs are easier to carry, but they can have fewer ports, less separation between connectors, or more reliance on the laptop for power. Developers who work in multiple locations should check the hub’s cable length, power arrangement, and whether it can handle the same monitor setup at each desk. A detachable hub design can bridge the two uses, though it may add parts to keep track of. A common buying mistake is paying for a desk dock when a small hub would cover a laptop-and-monitor routine, or expecting a travel hub to replace a full workstation dock. Pick the form factor based on where the cable clutter needs to stay.
Check Operating-System and Peripheral Compatibility
USB-C describes the connector, not a guarantee that all features behave identically across computers. Multi-display support can vary between Windows laptops, Macs, and Linux systems, and some video functions may depend on drivers or software. Check the dock maker’s compatibility notes for your specific operating system and laptop model, especially if you use Linux for development or move between machines. Also verify support for sleep and wake behavior, firmware updates, and the peripherals you need to connect. For managed work laptops, organization policies may restrict driver installation or firmware changes. A dock with fewer advertised features but direct compatibility can be a safer choice than one that needs workarounds.
Pay More Only for Capabilities You Will Use
Extra display outputs, higher charging capacity, and additional high-speed ports can make a dock more flexible, but they do not improve a workflow that does not need them. Consider how long you expect to keep the dock and whether your next laptop or monitor setup is likely to need more bandwidth or power. Spending more can make sense for a fixed workstation that must connect several screens and peripherals through one cable. It is harder to justify when you mainly need a monitor connection and a few USB accessories. Check what is included, such as a power adapter, because a dock that needs a separate purchase may not be as ready to use as its listing suggests. I’d prioritize reliable compatibility and the right port mix before paying for maximum port count.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a triple-display dock run three external monitors from any developer laptop?
No. The laptop’s graphics hardware, operating system, and USB-C or Thunderbolt implementation set limits that the dock cannot remove. A dock may expose enough video ports while the computer supports fewer active external screens. Check the laptop maker’s specifications for maximum display count, resolution, and refresh rate, then compare those limits with your monitors. If you use macOS or Linux, confirm the dock maker’s support notes for that exact platform. This check matters more than choosing the dock with the most video connectors.
Is a dock advertised with 100W charging enough for a laptop used for long builds?
It may be, but the headline number alone does not settle the question. Check how much power the dock actually passes to the laptop after accounting for its own power supply and connected devices. Compare that figure with the laptop’s recommended adapter, particularly if you run CPU- or GPU-heavy tasks for long periods. A lower-power connection can charge slowly or allow the battery to drain during sustained work. If you need predictable power, choose a dock whose delivered laptop wattage matches the computer’s requirements.
Should I choose a DisplayLink dock or one that uses direct USB-C video?
The right choice depends on the computer and the monitor setup you need. Direct USB-C video uses the laptop’s display-output capabilities, so it avoids relying on display software but remains subject to the computer’s native limits. DisplayLink-based setups can add flexibility for some multi-monitor configurations, but they may need driver installation and can behave differently across operating systems or managed work devices. Check whether your organization permits the required software and whether your preferred dock uses that approach. If simplicity and broad compatibility are priorities, confirm the exact connection method before ordering.
Can one USB-C dock work with both my work laptop and my personal laptop?
Often, but shared connectors do not guarantee identical features on both machines. One laptop may support two external displays while the other supports only one, or they may differ in charging requirements and USB-C video capabilities. Compare each computer’s specifications with the dock’s compatibility list, including operating-system support and any driver needs. Also check whether the dock’s power output is suitable for both laptops. A versatile dock can simplify a two-computer desk, but you may need to change display settings or cables when switching hosts.
When is a compact USB-C hub a better choice than a full docking station?
A compact hub is a better fit when you travel often, use a small number of peripherals, or need a simple connection to one or two displays. It takes less desk space and is easier to pack, but it may offer fewer ports and depend more on the laptop for power. A full dock is usually a better match for a fixed desk with several monitors, wired networking, storage, and a one-cable charging routine. Compare the ports you use every day rather than relying on the total count. If you expect to expand your workstation soon, a small hub may become limiting earlier.
Conclusion
For a balanced permanent workstation, I’d choose the Dell Pro WD25 as the best overall pick; developers focused on multiple high-resolution screens should look closely at the Plugable UD-ULTC4K and other Plugable triple-display models. For a best-value approach, I’d favor a simpler dual-display hub such as the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 when its ports and charging support match the laptop, rather than paying for unused monitor outputs. Beginners setting up a straightforward laptop desk can start with a compact option such as the Acer 9-in-1, after confirming display compatibility. For a best-premium or business-oriented setup, compare the Dell Pro Smart Dock SD25 and HP USB-C 100W G6 Dock against your organization’s support requirements. Developers who need a portable setup with a separate desk option should consider the Anker Nano 13-in-1 with detachable hub; whichever route you choose, verify host display limits and actual charging output before making the dock the center of your workflow.















