AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Does Siri’s New Memory Outshine The Hinge Cracks On Apple’s $1,999 Duo? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Apple’s iOS 27.2 update, released October 26, adds conversation recall and five languages to Siri AI, which remains in beta and is limited in availability. Apple also acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of $1,999 foldable iPhone Duo units; the cause and scope are not yet clear.

Apple’s iOS 27.2 update, released October 26, lets Siri AI recall earlier conversations and adds support for five languages, while the company has acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of its $1,999 foldable iPhone Duo units. The software brings new personal-context features to Apple’s AI assistant, but it remains in beta, has daily usage limits and is unavailable in some markets; Apple has not identified the cause of the Duo problem.

According to Apple’s release notes, Siri AI can now refer back to previous conversations, such as restaurant suggestions from the prior week. It can also use more personal information, including photos attached in Messages, Calendar event attendees and voicemails, and can draw more effectively on Safari history and Reading List. A new Excluded Apps setting lets users control which apps Siri, Search and suggestions can access. Users can also select and copy part of a Siri response. Apple says Siri responses on Apple Watch are faster than before.

The update adds French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish to English. Apple has said four more languages will follow by the end of 2026. Siri AI remains labeled as a beta feature, and Apple says it requires an iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later; it is not available to users under 13. The company’s availability notes say the service is not offered on iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch in the European Union or mainland China.

Separately, Apple confirmed “an issue impacting the inner display on a small number of iPhone Duo units” and says affected devices are being replaced through AppleCare. The company has not disclosed a count or provided a technical explanation. The Duo is Apple’s foldable phone, priced at $1,999. The software release and the hardware acknowledgement arrived in the same week, putting the company’s AI expansion alongside a quality issue on its high-priced new device.

At a glance
updateWhen: iOS 27.2 released October 26, 2026; dev…
The developmentApple released an iOS update adding memory and language support to Siri AI while acknowledging an inner-display issue in a small number of iPhone Duo units.
Watch the five-minute video: Siri AI’s new memory, the iPhone Duo’s hinge problem and what to do, with animated charts. Narration: AI voice clone of Thorsten Meyer.

Siri Gains Context, but Keeps Limits

Conversation recall makes Siri more useful for follow-up requests: users may ask about information discussed earlier without restating it. Access to selected personal data could also help the assistant handle tasks spanning messages, calendars and other apps. The new Excluded Apps control gives users a more direct way to restrict that access, while Apple says processing takes place on-device for smaller tasks and through its Private Cloud Compute system for larger ones.

Those capabilities come with meaningful limits. Apple’s support information says server-side features, including some Siri AI requests, are subject to daily usage limits that vary with the feature, request complexity and demand. Apple has announced that expanded access will be available for a fee but has not published a price or the current limits. Regional restrictions also mean the update does not put Siri AI within reach of all Apple customers.

The Duo issue matters for a different reason: the inner display is a central component of a foldable phone, and replacement arrangements do not explain whether the fault is confined to a small batch or could affect more devices. Apple’s description is limited to a small number of units. Until more details emerge, the scale and cause should not be inferred from independent demonstrations or reports.

Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Siri Launch to iOS 27.2

Siri AI debuted with iOS 27 on September 14 as an English-only beta. Apple described it as a redesigned assistant with personal context, world knowledge and onscreen awareness, able to carry out actions across apps. The company’s June announcement called it a “system orchestrator” that uses the on-device Spotlight index and an App Toolbox. The October 26 release is its first substantial update, adding conversation recall and broader language support.

Apple’s privacy approach combines on-device processing with Private Cloud Compute for more demanding requests. Apple says personal data sent to that system is not stored or made accessible to Apple or others, and says outside experts can verify the system. In a January 12 joint statement, Apple and Google said the next generation of Apple Foundation Models would be based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology, while Apple Intelligence would continue to run on Apple devices and Private Cloud Compute. That statement describes the model basis; it does not establish further claims about infrastructure.

Apple also announced a new iPad mini on October 26, with an 8.5-inch OLED display and A20 Pro chip. Apple claims up to 4.5 times faster AI performance than the previous generation, based on its own testing. The device starts at $699, compared with $499 for the 2024 model; pre-orders begin October 28 and delivery is scheduled for November 6. Apple has also confirmed a “Pro and tell” event for October 28. New Macs have been rumored, but Apple has not confirmed them.

“Siri AI can now remember earlier conversations.”

— Apple, in its release notes for iOS 27.2

Duo Fault and Siri Limits Unresolved

Apple has not explained what causes the Duo inner-display issue, how many units are affected, whether the problem is tied to a particular production batch or what repair and replacement options apply beyond the company’s statement about AppleCare replacements. iFixit’s simulation has pointed to a possible stress hotspot near the hinge, but that is not a confirmed diagnosis and Apple has not endorsed it.

For Siri AI, Apple has not published the daily usage limits or the price of the announced paid tier. The company has also not detailed the timing for the four additional languages promised by year-end. Availability restrictions and the beta label remain in place. Apple’s announcement does not specify when Siri AI will reach users in the EU or mainland China.

Apple Event and Device Follow-Up

Apple’s confirmed “Pro and tell” event is scheduled for October 28, 2026. The company has not confirmed reports of new Macs, so any announcements should be treated as unverified until Apple speaks. The new iPad mini is also due to open for pre-orders that day, with deliveries scheduled to begin November 6.

For the Duo, further information from Apple or affected customers may clarify the number of devices involved and the fault’s cause. For Siri AI, users will need to watch Apple’s support and release information for details on usage limits, paid access and the promised language additions. No date has been announced for broader regional availability.

Key Questions

What is new in Siri AI with iOS 27.2?

Siri AI can recall earlier conversations, use additional personal context such as Calendar attendees and voicemails, and support French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish. The update also adds an Excluded Apps setting and lets users copy parts of responses.

Which devices can use Siri AI?

Apple says Siri AI requires an iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later and is not available to users under 13. Apple’s availability notes exclude iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch users in the EU and mainland China.

What has Apple confirmed about the iPhone Duo display?

Apple has acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of iPhone Duo units and says affected devices are being replaced through AppleCare. It has not published the number of affected phones or the cause.

Does Siri AI have a usage limit or subscription price?

Apple says server-side features, including some Siri AI requests, have daily usage limits that vary by feature, complexity and demand. Apple has announced paid expanded access but has not published the limits or price.

Is the Duo hinge confirmed as the cause of the display issue?

No. An iFixit simulation has pointed to a possible stress hotspot near the hinge, but that does not establish the cause. Apple has not confirmed a technical explanation.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Why Founder-led SMBs Should Prioritize Tone In Invoice Chasing

Founder-led small businesses are testing tone-calibrated invoice follow-ups to improve cash flow, leveraging AI to balance relationship and collection.

Claude Duet Joins The Race As The AI Agent Switchboard Draws Attention

Anthropic opened Claude Duet as a waitlisted research preview, adding a cloud-based agent to a growing market for assistants that work in the background.

Linux Support Is Coming To Snapdragon X2 Series

Support for Linux on Snapdragon X2 Series is expected, signaling a shift in device compatibility and open-source adoption.

Every New Car In The EU Now Ships With A Driver Monitoring Camera Onboard

New EU safety rules have made driver monitoring standard on new cars, but whether every vehicle uses a camera is disputed. Here is what is confirmed.