🔍 Read the full analysis: 100M Monthly Calls: How Retell Puts OpenAI Models To Work on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify the measurement period, how a call is counted, which models are used, or what share of activity relies on them.
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models, reporting a sizeable usage figure for a service that conducts conversations by phone, as detailed in the original analysis. The announcement does not explain how calls are counted or identify the models, so the number cannot yet be used to assess completed conversations, performance, or growth.
The announcement connects Retell’s voice AI platform with OpenAI models and reports a monthly total of 100 million calls. It does not specify when that volume was measured, whether it is a typical month, or whether the figure is based on completed calls, attempted calls, or another measure of platform activity.
Retell has not identified which OpenAI models are involved, what parts of a call they handle, or how many calls use them. The details also provide no customer list, use-case breakdown, earlier monthly figure, or data on call outcomes. The number is a reported volume, not a disclosed measure of unique callers, revenue, accuracy, or successful resolutions.
Those missing details limit what can be concluded from the headline figure. Without a defined counting method and a comparison period, readers cannot determine whether the total reflects completed customer conversations or compare it directly with figures from other providers.
What 100 Million Calls Can Show
If measured consistently, a monthly call count of this scale could help indicate the operational reach of automated voice services. It may be relevant to organizations evaluating phone-based AI and to model providers whose systems are used in commercial products. But scale alone does not establish that calls were completed successfully, that callers received useful responses, or that the service reduced costs.
The figure also does not establish how extensively OpenAI models power Retell’s activity. The announcement says the models help power the platform, but gives no breakdown of their role or the share of calls that involve them. For customers and other providers, those distinctions matter: a platform-wide call total is not the same as a model-specific usage total or evidence of service quality.
Products Worth Considering

Sony WH-1000XM4C Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retell’s Reported Platform Activity
Retell offers a voice AI platform for phone conversations, and the announcement describes OpenAI models as part of the technology helping power it. It does not detail the system’s architecture or explain which tasks the models perform during an interaction. The figures therefore describe reported platform activity, not a technical account of how a call is processed.
No earlier baseline or time series accompanies the monthly total. It cannot be characterized as a growth rate or an increase, and there is no information here to compare Retell’s counting method with other services. The announcement also provides no independently verified performance results or customer outcome data.
“The platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.”
— Retell, as described in the announcement
How the Call Total Is Defined
The announcement does not say when the 100 million calls were measured or how Retell defines a call. It remains unclear whether the count includes attempted calls, repeated attempts, inbound and outbound activity, or only completed conversations. No information is provided on how the figure was verified.
The specific OpenAI models and their roles are also undisclosed, as is the proportion of Retell’s call volume that uses them. The announcement gives no figures on accuracy, latency, pricing, customer outcomes, or cost savings. Without those details, the monthly count cannot establish product quality or business impact.
Details Needed to Assess the Claim
Further information from Retell could clarify the reporting period and counting method, including what activity the total includes and whether it refers to completed calls. Details about the OpenAI models used and their specific functions would help explain how the partnership supports the service.
No next milestone or timeline for additional disclosures was provided. Until more information is available, the 100 million figure should be read as Retell’s reported monthly volume, not as an independently comparable measure of performance or growth.
Primary source: OpenAI · via Key Questions Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not define how it counts calls. The announcement details do not identify the specific models or explain which tasks they perform during calls. That is not established. The counting method is unspecified, so the total could refer to completed calls, attempts, or another measure of activity. No comparison period or earlier baseline is provided. The figure is a reported monthly total and does not establish a growth rate. Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.comWhat did Retell report?
Which OpenAI models does Retell use?
Does the figure mean 100 million completed conversations?
Does 100 million calls show that Retell is growing?
